Exposition

Acadia of the Lands and Forests

“Disputed Boundaries & Rediscovered Families”

 
The fifth Acadian World Congress held in August 2014 offers a special opportunity to consider the surprising historical and geographic links between the participating communities of five neighbouring counties of New Brunswick, Maine and Quebec.
 
The systematic settlement of Acadia of the Lands and Forests — as opposed to maritime Acadia — did not begin until 1785, 30 years after the Deportation. Up until about 1845, settlement of the territory was haphazard. While the United States and Great Britain quarrelled over the boundary, the population increased and newcomers put down roots, though without necessarily obtaining formal title to the land. The American and British authorities conducted various censuses in the region, but so as to not make the situation any worse, generally refrained from granting any land there. Once the conflict was over, in 1842, Augusta and Fredericton sent out Commissioners to regularize the situation. Those occupants who met the Treaty criteria received official ownership title and plots of land were surveyed and marked out.
 
Numerous documents were produced on that occasion, including cadastral maps and a compendium of occupant testimonials. As a result of this particular history, we have detailed official records about the people on the territory in its earliest days, the like of which is not available for other surrounding populations at that time. Presenting this archival documentation is the main feature of our project. We want to share it in a number of ways. First, through an exhibit at the Madawaska Historical Museum, which will later go on tour. This issue of the Revue de la Société historique du Madawaska, which is entirely devoted to this exhibit, also stands as its catalogue. At the same time, the IT tools developed during the project are being progressively incorporated into a web tool of the museum, so that Internet users can further pursue their own research.
 
Both visitors to the museum and readers of the Revue can appreciate the old maps and documents being presented by means of an interpretation that is organized into 10 steps:
 
In the beginning were… the lands and forests – The first step illustrates the 16th-century Europeans’ unfamiliarity with the territory, the first European incursions into the Upper Saint John River Valley, and the Acadian Diaspora following the deportations.
 
Seed of a republic in Madawaska – The second step deals with the arrival of the first inhabitants, using some of the oldest archival documents, including a first map made in the region in 1787 by George Sproule, Surveyor General of New Brunswick. 
 
London and Washington dispute the lands and forests – The third step recalls the context of the disputed territory, when the entire region was claimed by both the United States and the British Empire. 
 
Webster and Ashburton divide land, forests… and families – The fourth step describes the Washington Treaty of 1842, its significant elements, and the repercussions of this Treaty, which settled the question of the international boundary, although not just that.
 
Fredericton and Augusta integrate “their” Madawaska – The fifth step presents the work of the American and British Commissions who came to bring some order to land ownership once the Treaty had been signed. Excerpts from the Madawaska Grant Book tell us about how the occupants acquired control over their land at the time.
 
MacLauchlan and Allen knock at the doors of Madawaskans – The sixth step — and central part of the project — consists of three modules. The first two modules each interpret a typical map from the cadastral atlas created between 1844 and 1847. The first refers to the land that ultimately became the site of the city of Edmundston as well as those lots along the Madawaska River up to the Quebec boundary. The second presents the southern portion of the “British” territory, west of and including the present-day town of Grand Falls.
 
Eastman, Dana, and Cunningham visit the “Americans” - The third module of step 6 tells us about the lots on the south shore of the Saint John River and on both sides of Fish River in Maine, USA.
 
Every Madawaska family has a history – The seventh step will be of particular interest to those involved in genealogy. Two tables show the distribution of families on each side of the Saint John, the number of plots they occupied, and the total area of their grants.
 
Quebec and Fredericton dispute the lands and forests – The eighth step deals with the issue of the interprovincial boundary between Quebec and New Brunswick. 
 
There is a star for each of us – The ninth step allegorically portrays contemporary Acadia as an Acadia of the World, and invites us to see Acadia of the Lands and Forests as a land without boundaries, neither internal nor external. 
 
Tribute to the partners – A final step acknowledges all of the partners who have made this project possible and whom we thank for their help and support.
 
Throughout the exhibit, actual visitors as well as readers of the Revue are guided by a timeline of key events from 100 selected years. Tools are also available at the exhibit or online to pursue one’s own research in our databases.
 
Beyond all of its lessons, this project demonstrates that Acadia of the Lands and Forests forms a unique entity, certainly one that is formed of three components, yet one whose people share a common geography and history, composed of disputed boundaries, but also of rediscovered families, at the junctions of major currents of North American history.
 

Read - ​In the beginning were… the lands and forests »

Exposition

L’Acadie des terres et forêts 

« Frontières contestées & Familles retrouvées »
 
La tenue en août 2014 du cinquième Congrès mondial acadien constitue une occasion privilégiée de se pencher sur les surprenants liens historiques et géographiques unissant les communautés participantes de cinq comtés voisins du Nouveau-Brunswick, du Maine et du Québec.
 
Rappelons que l’Acadie des terres et forêts — par opposition à l’Acadie maritime — ne commence à se peupler systématiquement qu’en 1785, soit trente ans après la Déportation. Jusque vers 1845, l’occupation du territoire se fait de façon anarchique. Pendant que les USA et la Grande-Bretagne débattent de la frontière, la population augmente et de nouveaux arrivants s’installent, sans nécessairement obtenir les droits officiels de propriété du terrain. Les autorités américaines et britanniques mènent bien plusieurs recensements dans la région, mais pour ne pas envenimer la situation, s’abstiennent généralement d’y concéder des terres. Le conflit résolu, en 1842, Augusta et Fredericton envoient des commissaires sur place régulariser la situation. Les occupants répondant aux critères du Traité reçoivent ainsi un titre officiel de propriété et les lots sont arpentés et marqués. 
 
À cette occasion, de nombreux documents sont produits, dont des cartes de cadastre et un recueil de témoignages des occupants. En raison de cette histoire particulière, il existe au sujet des personnes sur le territoire à ses débuts une documentation officielle détaillée comme on n’en retrouve pas l’équivalent ailleurs pour les autres populations environnantes à la même époque. Notre mise en valeur de cette documentation d’archives constitue le temps fort de notre projet. Nous voulons la partager sous plusieurs formes. D’abord, par une exposition présentée au Musée historique du Madawaska et qui deviendra ensuite itinérante. Ce numéro de la Revue de la Société historique du Madawaska, qui lui est entièrement consacré, constitue aussi un catalogue de cette exposition. Parallèlement, les outils informatiques mis au point pendant le projet sont intégrés progressivement dans un site web du Musée et permettront aux internautes de poursuivre plus à fond leurs propres recherches.
 
Tant les visiteurs se présentant au Musée que les lecteurs de la Revue peuvent apprécier les cartes et documents anciens mis en valeur grâce à une interprétation déclinée en dix étapes :
 
Au commencement étaient… les terres et forêts - La première étape illustre la méconnaissance du territoire par les Européens au 16e siècle, les premières incursions européennes dans la vallée du Haut Saint-Jean et la Diaspora acadienne au lendemain des déportations.
 
Graine de république au Madawaska - La deuxième étape traite de l’arrivée des premiers habitants à l’aide des plus anciens documents d’archives, incluant une première carte faite dans la région en 1787, par George Sproule, arpenteur général du Nouveau-Brunswick. 
 
Londres et Washington se disputent terres et forêts - La troisième étape rappelle le contexte du moment où tout le territoire était revendiqué tant par les États-Unis que par l’Empire britannique. 
 
Ashburton et Webster divisent terres, forêts… et familles - La quatrième étape décrit le traité de Washington (1842), ses éléments significatifs et les répercussions de ce protocole qui a réglé la question de la frontière internationale, mais pas que ça.
 
Fredericton et Augusta intègrent « leurs » Madawaska - La cinquième étape présente le travail des commissions américaine et britannique venues régulariser la propriété des lots au lendemain de la signature du traité. Des extraits du Livre des concessions au Madawaska (Madawaska Grant Book) nous apprennent la manière par laquelle les occupants mettaient la main sur leurs terres à l’époque.
 
MacLauchlan et Allen cognent aux portes des Madawaskayens - La sixième étape — la partie centrale du projet — comprend trois modules. Les deux premiers interprètent chacun une carte-type de l’Atlas cadastral créé entre 1844 et 1847. Une première carte nous parle de l’endroit qui a fini par être le site de la ville d’Edmundston et des lots situés le long de la Madawaska jusqu’à la frontière du Québec. La deuxième carte présente la partie sud du territoire « britannique », jusqu’à et incluant l’actuelle ville de Grand-Sault.
 
Eastman, Dana et Cunningham visitent les « Américains » - Le troisième module de l’étape 6 nous informe sur une carte délimitant les lots de la rive sud du fleuve Saint-Jean de part et d’autre de la Fish River dans le Maine américain.
 
Chaque famille madawaskayenne a son histoire – La septième étape sera particulièrement intéressante pour qui s’adonne à la généalogie. Deux tableaux montrent la distribution des familles de part et d’autre du Saint-Jean, le nombre de lots qu’elles occupent et la superficie totale de leurs concessions. 
 
Québec et Fredericton se disputent terres et forêts – La huitième étape aborde la question de la frontière interprovinciale entre le Québec et le Nouveau-Brunswick. 
 
Y’a une étoile pour chacun de nous – La neuvième étape illustre allégoriquement que l’Acadie contemporaine est une Acadie du monde et nous invite à redécouvrir l’unicité d’une Acadie des terres et forêts sans frontières, ni internes, ni externes.
 
Hommage aux partenaires - Une dernière étape présente l’ensemble des partenaires qui ont rendu ce projet possible et auxquels nous adressons nos remerciements. 
 
Tout au long du parcours, les visiteurs de l’exposition comme les lecteurs de la Revue sont guidés par une frise chronologique, une ligne du temps, rappelant les événements marquants pour la région de 100 années choisies. Des outils disponibles pendant l’exposition et en ligne permettent aussi de poursuivre des recherches dans nos bases de données.
 
Ce projet démontre, au-delà de toutes ses découvertes, que l’Acadie des terres et forêts forme un ensemble unique, certes formé de trois constituantes, mais dont les populations partagent une géographie et une histoire communes, faites de frontières contestées, mais aussi de familles retrouvées, à l’interface des grands courants de l’histoire de l’Amérique.